top of page
Search

Larry D. Steinman



Larry Steinman, 79, living in Beggs, Oklahoma for the past 12 years. Started writing about 2 years ago. I had a 'what if...' one day and wrote it down, and ended up with a story. I started writing short stories and gave them to my daughter to read. She thought they should be published. I sent them to Dorrance Publishing, 'Collection of Short Stories', and now my first book is on the market. The stories contain mystery, intrigue, surprise endings and things are not always as they seem. I have another set of short stories I will probably send for publishing in the fall. I am also working on a novel. It concerns a castle built in Romania in the 1500's and what happens to the people who own the castle over the centuries up to the 1960's. The castle has a lot of secrets.



Where are you from?

I am originally from Ohio, but have lived in Oklahoma for the last 16 years.


Tell us your latest news.

My latest news, is that my new novel, ‘The Secrets of Benes’ Castle’, is being considered for a television series.


When, and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2017. After my wife passed away in 2016, I didn’t seem to have any goal,

until one day I an idea came to my mind. I wrote the idea down, and the next thing I knew, I

had written a story. Although, very short. I liked it, and enjoyed writing it, so I tried another

story. I enjoyed writing these short stories, and now I am working on full novels.


When did you consider yourself a writer?

When local people started reading my stories, and commenting on how good they were. I

thought, maybe I have something here.


What inspired you to write your first book?

After writing several stories, my daughter talked me into putting them together as a book,

and sending them to a publisher.


Do you have a specific writing style?

I would say I do. I was told by a publisher that wanted to promote my book, that ‘What made

my stories different, was the way I strung my sentences together, and that my descriptions

made the reader feel that they could see what was happening, and that they were part of it.


How did you come up with the title?

For the ‘Collection of Short Stories’, the publisher came up with the title. I was pretty fresh

back then. Today, I would title the book ‘Short Stories of Mystery and Intrigue’. I think that title would attract the reader more readily, because it hints at what is inside. For the ‘Castle’, the story was about secrets the castle was hiding. I looked up Rumanian names, and liked the name Benes’.


Is there a message in your novel, that you want readers to grasp?

Not necessarily a message. I just want the readers to enjoy the story.


How much of the book is realistic?

The book is purely fiction. But I did a lot of research, and many of the incidents in the book

have happened in history.


Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your life?

No.


What books have most influenced your life most?

Mostly history books.


If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I really couldn’t answer that.


What book are you reading now?

I just finished ‘An Archaeological History of the Bible’.


Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I can’t say there are.


What are your current projects?

I am working on another novel which is about a detective I invented, by the name of Matt

Huston. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I must say, that my promoter with the publisher, has helped me immensely. He has walked

me through things, and helped me through every step of the way.


Do you see writing as your career?

At my age, writing is now career.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would change nothing. Once I say ‘End’, it is just the way I want it to read.


Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Just as I said before, writing an idea down, and making a story, made me interested.


Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Right now, I am working on having my ‘Castle’ screenplay pick up by a television producer.

Originally it was going to be a movie, but there is so much in the book, they couldn’t do it in a 90-minute movie. Also, I am writing another novel about Matt Huston, my detective.


Is there anything you find particularly challenging to your writing?

Not really. I’m so full of ideas; probably the thing, is trying to decide which path I want to

take at a certain point. But that doesn’t usually take long.


Who is your favorite author, and what is it that really strikes you about their

work?

I never thought about a favorite author. I don’t really know.


Do you have to travel much concerning your book?

No. Just locally for a book signing.


Who designed the covers?

The publishers designed the covers.


What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The short stories were not too difficult, but the ‘Castle’ book spanned many centuries. I had

to keep my dates straight, and keep track of the ages of the characters thru out.


Did you learn anything from writing your books?

In writing short stories, I soon learned how to expand them and keep them interesting. And

that experience is what helped me write the novel about the ‘Castle’. I hope that experience

will help me finish my current novel, Matt Huston.


Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you really want to be a writer, be imitative. Keep the reader interested, and wanting more.

Don’t underestimate your writing, it may be better than you think.


Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

When readers read my books, I




want them to be entertained. I want them to enjoy the story

or stories. But most of all, I want them to want to see more of my writing.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page